Nov 17, 2021

The Minister of Transport, Kweku Ofori Asiamah has sworn in an 11-member board for the Ghana Ports and Harbours Authority.

Former Member of Parliament, Chief Executive Officer of Ghana Cocoa Board and Managing Director of Tema Oil Refinery (TOR), Isaac Osei will lead the group as Board Chairman.

Other members include Michael Luguje, the Director-General of GPHA, Sandra Opoku, Director of Port, Tema, Capt. Ebenezer Afadzi, Director of Port, Takoradi, Mabel Sagoe, the Chief Director of the Ministry of Transport, Benonita Bismarck, the Chief Executive Officer of Ghana Shippers’ Authority, Clement Osei Amoako, President of the Ghana Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Adam Imoru Ayarna, an Executive Member of the Ship Owners and Agents Association, Ghana (SOAAG), Ing. Dr. Michael Adjei Anyetei Ghana Railway Company Limited, Francisca Oteng-Mensah, a Member of Parliament, and Samuel Arhin, an employees’ representative.

Speaking at the inaugural ceremony, the Minister of Transport urged the board members to strengthen collaborations that would enhance corporate governance of the State-Owned Enterprise.

“Whatever it takes for us to work together let us do so. As a Ministry we are here to support you, we will not be mingling in the operation activities but we will also not compromise on the policy direction of government,” he said.

He called on the new Board Chairman Isaac Osei, to bring his vast experience to bear in the advancement of the Ghana Ports and Harbours Authority.

The Board Chairman in turn, assured of his unwavering commitment to ensuring that the policy direction for the sector is fully implemented at GPHA.

“We will be working with the Ministry to ensure that the policy direction which government wants us to follow will be followed very closely,” he said.